Cover Image





catalog #:


formats available:


Release Date:

November 12, 2007

The debut album from Labradford, as well as the premier kranky release, was originally issued in October 1993 to a surprising amount of acclaim as well as a fair bit of confusion. What was one to make of these beatless atmospheres cum pop songs that had very little to do with contemporary "indie-rock"? The album was typically lumped into such newly minted sub-genres such as "lo-fi" and "post-rock" even though there was no connection to any such imagined scenes. Lo-fi? You can hear Mark Nelson breathe between vocal lines for chrissake. Must be the lack of cymbals and hi-hat that accounts for that fallacy. Post-rock? Does this catch-all phrase for disparate musical groups and sounds even imply anything concrete or encompassing? Alas, just another label that quickly became meaningless.
What is clearly evident upon listening to the album anew is that this is not a dated or stale work by any means. It could just as well have been recorded in 2003, or 1983 for that matter, as in 1993. It does not contain any of the markers so typical of pop music that would place it in any time frame, no production touches or instrumental sounds that would identify it as being the product of a specific period. At the very least, Labradford created a timeless work, one that still challenges the listener today. More to the point, they created a masterwork.

"A stunning work, brilliantly conceived and executed." Alternative Press

"Labradford has created an otherworldy, wholly unique, self-contained environment. It's transfixing and uplifting in the purest sense of the "psychedelic" word, and is one of the year's best records as well." The Bob

"Not unlike landing on an alien planet where the atmosphere is laced with ether. The shimmers, swirls and reverence for tonal purity make for the ultimate in trance-essential meditation." Request

"Too downbeat to be new-age air pudding, too engrossing to be ambient, too beatless to be anything like rock, Prazision LP is a rara avis: a new kind of music made with old tools." CMJ

catalog# artist title format paypal purchase





out of print






  1. Listening in Depth
  2. Accelerating on a Smoother Road
  3. Splash Down
  4. Disremembering
  5. Experience the Gated Oscillator
  6. Soft Return - [MP3]
  7. Sliding Glass
  8. C. of People
  9. New Listening
  10. Gratitude
  11. Skyward with Motion
  12. Everlast
  13. Preserve the Sound Outside [additional track from debut 7"]