Cover Image




Quiet City

catalog #:


formats available:


Release Date:

June 21, 2004

Quiet City is the fourth album from Mark Nelson's Pan•American project and combines the computer-centric approach of The River Made No Sound with the organic instrumentation that marked Nelson's work in Labradford and the first two Pan•American albums. Three of the eight tracks were recorded with Charles Kim (Sinister Luck Ensemble) and feature upright bass, drums, trumpet and flugelhorn.  Nelson even sings a bit.  The rippling electronics and muffled beats of the first three Pan•American albums are still there; distended into elegiac, resonant, wavering, and ambient song craft.  The CD edition of Quiet City comes with a DVD that contains a video essay shot and edited by Mark Nelson and Chicago visual artist Annie Feldmeier.

As Bob Baker Fish noted "Pan•American's forte is in the studio, crafting together all manner of disparate sounds with a patience and eclecticism rarely sighted in contemporary electronica." Pan•American has released singles and contributed to compilations on labels across the world, done remix work for artists like PSI Performer and Kid 606, collaborated with the artist Thomas Demand and toured with Radian and Low.   He has a release coming up on the brand new Mosz label as well.  The full-length video that accompanies the album is a visual meditation on the theme of the quiet city; suitable for focussed viewing or accompanying everyday activity — an ambient video if it helps to think of it as that.

Mark Nelson:  Electronics, guitar, voice and mix
with Charles Kim: upright bass, tracks 4 and 5
Tim Mulvenna (Vandermark 5, Jeb Bishop Trio/Quartet): drums, 4 and 5
Steven Hess (Hat Melter, Bosco & Jorge, Aluminum Group): drums, 7
David Max Crawford (Poi Dog Pondering, Wilco, Stereolab): trumpet on 5, flugehorn on 7


  1. Begin - [MP3]
  2. Wing
  3. Shining Book
  4. Inside Elevation - [MP3]
  5. Skylight
  6. Lights on Water
  7. Het Volk - [MP3]
  8. Lights of Little Towns