Cover Image




144 Pulsations of Light

catalog #:


formats available:


Release Date:

October 5, 2009

144 Pulsations of Light is the debut full length release by Tim Gray under the name of Ethernet.

Tim states: "Based on my research and experience in using sound for induction of meditative states, I set out to apply trance-inducing sonic effects to drone-ambient music. I recontextualized the deep bass kick sound used in techno dance music as a subdued hypnotic pulse to accentuate the textures. An unprocessed analog Roland TR-808 was used for this pulse, as well as binaural beats and spatial effects processing to create music to facilitate deep meditation. I blended layers of synthesized textures with organic field recordings made in Central Japan in '00-'01, and Northern California between '03-'08. The intent of the album is to produce an introspective sonic environment conducive to self-healing work and voyaging into new states of awareness."

While Tim's description may read as somewhat dry and technical, the sonic landscapes that he composes are anything but. He sculpts textural washes of sound to create immersive, constantly shifting aural psychedelic environments. Hazy, gaseous atmospheres that are alternately arid and humid float above, in and around the muffled pulses used as rhythms. The experience is not unlike that of landing on an alien planet, stepping out of a spaceship, and surveying new terrain.

catalog# artist title format paypal purchase



144 Pulsations of Light



  1. majestic
  2. 5 + 7 = 12
  3. summer insects
  4. vaporous
  5. seaside
  6. kansai
  7. temple