Stolen and Contaminated Songs


Cover Image

Cover Image


UK CD Threshold House LOCI CD 4

  1. Further
  2. Original Chaostrophy
  3. Who'll Tell?
  4. Omlagus Garfungiloops
  5. Inkling
  6. Love's Secret Domain (original mix)
  7. Nasa Arab [ESKATON 001]
  8. Who'll Fall?
  9. The Original Wild Garlic Memory
  10. Wrim Wram Wrom
  11. Corybantic Ennui
  12. Her Friends the Wolves...
  13. Light Shining Darkly

John Balance
Peter Christopherson
Stephen Thrower
Danny Hyde

This CD is a collection of outtakes and unreleased songs from the Love's Secret Domain sessions.
The original mail-order (1992) version was limited to 2000 numbered copies and came without any tracklist, only a slip of paper with the number, a Coil sticker and a flyer (reverse).
The retail version of the 1992 edition came with a sticker on the back with song titles that differ from the 1993 edition.
The 1993 edition had a back cover with song titles printed, track one being misspelled as "Futher," however.
The 1992 version has been known to rot.


Coil's long awaited limited edition release is finally available. Over 60 minutes of material evolved from the Loves Secret Domain sessions, extensively reworked and remixed with the addition of previously unreleased material. Possibly not the ambient release we were expecting but a worthwhile recording all the same. A version of Further, Back and Faster opens the album. Gone is the lyric replaeed by a weird sample over an even weirder obsessive rhythm. A strange mix of Chaostrophy, covering familiar Coil temtory is present. A new track with real percussion, ethnic singing maybe and another strange lyric of "Whose To Tell" is followed by a sort of jazz piece which puts the sex back in Coil, excellent. An early version of Loves Secret Domain is the singular vocal outing by John on the album. The track itself catches Coil in a jovial mood, providing what can be basically described as a pop song, with its deep flowing bass. Some conventional dance sounds are utilised by Coil in a couple of traeks though as John says "it's dance music for the head".

If the Tainted Love video stopped the dancing in the clubs, the track using the answering machine dialogue telling of suicide will make you stop whatever you're doing in the house. A devastating track aided by sympathetic backing music very moving and emotionally draining. From then on in like prior Coil releases nothing really flows together, lengthy disembodied pieces of music, showing their versatility. S&CS's shows Coil have more tricks up their sleeves and remains a remarkable piece of work.

from Compulsion

The sample ("Now John! You must never, never tell / Who's to tell") is from "Night of the Hunter", but not the movie. Rather, its from an old album where Charles Laughton (who directed the movie) narrates the story, possibly reading passages right out of the Davis Grubb novel.
A different sample from the same source ("See his hands - look at the fingers / Tattooed fingers / The fingers of the left hand spell - love, those of the right spell - hate") is used on "Further Back and Faster".

The original idea was to do S&CS as a limited edition available by advance mail-order only. This turned into something of a fiasco, with John & Sleazy's inevitable delays in finishing the project, exacerbated by poor record keeping of orders. A lot of people didn't end up getting their copy (though it was usually cleared up if people got in touch directly and complained) and Coil ended up distributing it to stores in spite of their original intention not to. (Coil have since given up direct mail order, except for the occasional rare single that turns up behind a bookshelf.
The combination of Coil's doing some of their strongest work ever on a limited edition and the above fiasco made bootlegging almost inevitable. In response to this, they ended up doing a unlimited edition of S&CS with different cover art and actual song titles, etc.
The first edition was like what you described; I have no idea if the bootlegs were made to look like the original or if they had a different design. - Pete Werner

Some copies had stickers on the back with a tracklisting, others had a small numbered card in it with the title of the CD as well as some some stickers. Although the artwork & songtitles are different from the later (commercial) re-release, the music is identical (and as far as I can tell from the matrix numbers, they were pressed off the same master). There are bootlegs that look more or less identical, and the only way to identify an original copy is by checking the inner ring on the CD, which should read "LOCICD4 10204341 01 &" and "MADE IN THE U.K. BY PDO". - Maarten D. Schemer